National Law Day


On 19 November 2015, the Government of India declared 26 November as Constitution Day. It is also known as Samvidhan Divas and National Law Day. The Constituent Assembly of India adopted the Constitution of India on 26 November 1949 and it came into effect on 26 January 1950. On 11 October 2015, the declaration was made by Prime Minister Narendra Modi while laying the foundation stone of the B. R Ambedkar’s Statue of Equality memorial in Mumbai. As the year 2015 was the 125th birth anniversary of Ambedkar, who had chaired the drafting committee of the Constituent Assembly and played a pivotal role in the drafting of the constitution.

Dr. B. R Ambedkar was the architect of the constitution and a founding father of the Republic Of India. He was appointed Chairman of the Constitution Drafting Committee on 29 August and was appointed by the Constituent Assembly to write India’s new Constitution. He has studied the constitution of about 60 countries and he was a wise constitutional expert.

The Indian Constitution drafted by Ambedkar as ‘first and foremost a social document’. The document drafted and the text written on it provided constitutional guarantees and protections for a wide range of civil liberties for individual citizens, including freedom of religion, the abolition of untouchability, and the outlawing of all forms of discrimination.

Glimpse Of The Constitution

The Constitution is divided into various parts
Preamble – Socialist, Secular and Integrity
Part 1 – State and Union Territories
Part 2 – Citizenship
Part 3 – Fundamental Rights
Part 4 – Directive Principles Of State Policies
Part 4A – Fundamental Duties
Part 5 – The Union
Part 6 – The States
Part 7 – States In B Part of the first schedule
Part 8 – Union territories
Part 9 – Panchayats
Part 9A – Municipalities
Part 9B – Co-operative societies
Part 10 – Scheduled and tribal areas
Part 11 – Relations between the union and the states
Part 12 – Finance, Property, Contracts, and suits
Part 13 – Trade and commerce within India
Part 14 – Services under the union and states
Part 14A – Tribunals
Part 15 – Elections
Part 16 – Special provisions relating to certain classes
Part 17 – Languages
Part 18 – Emergency provisions
Part 19 – Miscellaneous
Part 20 – Amending the constitution
Part 21 – Temporary, transitional and special provisions
Part 22 – Short title, date of commencement, authoritative text in Hindi and repeals.

0 Replies to “National Law Day”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *