BCCI Announces India’s 15-Man Squad for U-19 World Cup 2020


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Monday, announced the 15-man squad for the U-19 World Cup 2020 to be held in South Africa. Four-time champions India will take part in the 13th version of the tournament, to be played between January 17 and February 9.

Uttar Pradesh’s Priyam Garg has been named the captain, while wicketkeeper-batsman Dhruv Chand Jurel has been named the vice-captain. Mumbai’s Yashasvi Jaiswal, who became the youngest batsman to score a List A double century earlier this year, has also been named in the squad.

In the 16 team tournament, India has drawn in Group A along with New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and Japan. The top two teams from each of the four groups will qualify for the Super League Stage.

India is the most successful team in the history of the tournament with four titles. India will look to defend its u-19 World Cup title. India led by Prithvi Shaw and coached by “The Wall” Rahul Dravid, won the 2018 U-19 World Cup by defeating Australia in the finals. 

India squad for U-19 World Cup 2020: Priyam Garg (captain), Dhruv Chand Jurel (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Divyaansh Saxena, Shashwat Rawat, Divyansh Joshi, Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Kartik Tyagi, Atharva Ankolekar, Kumar Kushagra (wk), Sushant Mishra, Vidyadhar Patil.

0 Replies to “BCCI Announces India’s 15-Man Squad for U-19 World Cup 2020”
News Update

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *