2019 Nobel Prize for Medicine Announced


The 2019 Nobel Prize for Medicine has been jointly awarded to William G. Kaelin Jr, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza for their path-breaking discovery of “how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability”.

The prize was announced earlier today, at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm. The jury said,” They established the basis for our understanding of how oxygen levels affect cellular metabolism and physiological function.”

The jury further added,” the trios’ discovery has paved the way for promising new strategies to fight anemia, cancer and many other diseases.”

Here’s a tip for winning a Nobel Prize from this year’s winner William G. Kaelin Jr’s laboratory.

0 Replies to “2019 Nobel Prize for Medicine Announced”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *